Aarhus University

Aarhus University (AU) was founded in 1928 and today it has several world class research fields. AU has 42,500 students (2015) and 11,550 employees. The university has an annual intake of just under 7,000 students, while 4,000 students graduate each year. There are more than 6,000 researchers (4,300 full-time equivalents) at the university, including approximately 2,000 PhD students.

Research at Aarhus University is partly organised in departments distributed among four main academic areas, and partly in basic research centres. Aarhus University also comprises a number of interdisciplinary centres

For more information see AU's website.

Aarhus University has several departments and research centres which perform research relevant to “oil and gas”. These include (but are not limited to):

• Department of Engineering
• Department of Geoscience 
• Department of Chemistry
• Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center (iNANO)
• Center for Geomicrobiology

Some of the relevant research areas at Aarhus University can be listed as:

Acoustic reservoir characteristics of subseismic fractures
• Rock chemistry 
• Geomechanical behavior of soils (strength/deformation)
• Fluid Flow modeling 
• Reservoir chemistry and microbiology 
• Sensors
 Enhanced Oil Recovery
• Injection tests 
• Optimization of production concepts 
• Structural Monitoring and Dynamics
• Construction Management (e.g. Lean Construction)
• Platform optimization
Mechanical and Materials Engineering 
• Communications Systems (Internet of Things, Smart grid communications, etc.)
• Digitalization, Big Data, and Data Analytics
• Cyber-Physical Systems

Currently there are several DHRTC projects running at Aarhus University led by researchers at Department of Geoscience, Department of Chemistry, Center for Geomicrobiology, and Department of Engineering. 

AU logo


Gülnur Dogan
Local Focal Point
Aarhus University